Conception

Vitamins and Supplements to Aid Fertility – Night

I am a vegetarian, have been for 21 years now! Gosh that makes me feel old! As a ten year old when I announced to my family that I would no longer be eating bacon, my dear Mom agreed. She thought it was just a phase of a head strong little lady who watched “Babe” too much 🙂 I am a vegetarian for animal welfare reasons. When I had a pre-conception appointment with my Doctor, she did a full blood test health check and all my levels of everything are normal – yay! At the appointment, Doc recommended that I start a multivitamin and folic acid in preparation for baby.

I take the multivitamin at night time. For me, taking a multivitamin eases my mind that I am topping up my vitamin supplies in case I’m lacking one or two during the day with my veggie diet and I feel like I am giving my eggs the best chance. When deciding which pre-conception multivitamin to take, the choice for me was between Pregnacare, Boots brand, and Seven Seas. Initally it was between those three because they were the brands I recognised and those were available in my local Boots. I often have indigestion trouble with large pills, so immediately that discounted the Pregnacare and Boots. And to make the decision even easier, Pregnacare and Boots brand retail for over £10 each whereas Seven Seas is about £4 from Wilko for a month’s supply.

Seven Seas Trying for a BabySo the price and the size of the pills were two aspects that made the decision easy. Now having taken these pills for three months, I can also add that I have had no adverse reactions to these, no indigestion, no bad taste, no foul smell. And the blister pack is also a quirky little bonus. The pills are designed like a contraceptive pill pack, so I guess women who go from the routine of taking The Pill will transition nicely into the familiarity and routine when taking these multivitamins.

One thought on “Vitamins and Supplements to Aid Fertility – Night

Leave a Reply

