Conception

Vitamins and Supplements to Increase Fertility – Part 1

As I mentioned in my previous post, my Doc recommended that I take folic acid and a multivitamin while trying to conceive. I take the Seven Seas Trying for a Baby multivitamin at night time, just before bed. My husband and I both take the folic acid and a few others with our breakfast and a pint of water each in the morning. I’ve decided to take these supplements on the advice of my Doc, as well as lots of reading that I did myself. Here are the pills that we take to increase our fertility:

Vitamins and supplements to increase fertility

Folic Acid, 400mcg – My Doc and the NHS and many charities that help individuals affected with neural tube defects all highly recommend taking at least 400mcg (micrograms) of folic acid daily. Mums-to-be should take the folic acid while trying to conceive, as well as during the first trimester as it is essential for baby’s spine and can significantly reduce the risk of birth defects, such as spina bifida. Dads-to-be should also take folic acid, as a study in California found a link between high levels of folic acid and healthy sperm. So folic before you frolic!

B-Complex, 1ml in dropper – BCo is fab! I can literally feel the energy and motivation and get-up-and-go inside me twenty minutes after taking it! I am vegetarian and hubby is vegan, so we have been taking this for years anyway to support normal energy levels and reduce fatigue. We have recently started taking this in liquid form sublingually (under the tongue) as I used to get indigestion with BCo pills and capsules. A recent study states that taking B12 specifically, together with folic acid, further reduces the risk of birth defects.

Zinc, 25mg – Zinc is needed for a body to function properly. People take it for a huge variety of reasons: infertility, erectile dysfunction, skin problems, boosting the immune system, normal thyroid function, athletic performance, virus protection, vision problems, and even depression! We take it to help hubby’s swimmers be their best, and to help our bodies in general to function optimally.

Part 2 of which vitamins and supplements we use to increase our fertility will follow in the next post!

One thought on “Vitamins and Supplements to Increase Fertility – Part 1

Leave a Reply

