Conception

Happy Fathers’ Day Future Daddy

Fathers Day

My husband and I have been trying to conceive for four months now. We’ve been married for a year and a half. We were engaged for a year and a half before that. We dated for four and a half years before that. I can’t remember a life before him!

Yesterday, I got really (unreasonably) mad at him because we’ve waited so long to try to conceive. I had a wobble imagining a life being pregnant in my 40s, and being either 70-years old or dead for our youngest’s wedding! I cried because he might not be there to walk our fictional daughter down the aisle in 40 year time! When I unloaded all of this onto him at 1am, he gave me a cuddle, made me a cup of tea, put on my favourite TV show, tidied up the kitchen and offered me a back rub. And that’s exactly how I know he’ll be a wonderful Dad.

He knows me better than I know myself. He takes on all my crazy. He is a protector. He is a provider. He loves me. He wants a family. He made us wait to have a baby because the circumstances weren’t right before and they are now. He may be nervous and awkward and scared, but he is in this with me. He has bought all the baby making products and vitamins and supplements and pee sticks. He gives his swimmers pep talks after the baby dance. He wants me. He wants a baby. And his dad jokes are on point.

So Happy Fathers’ Day Future Daddy. It’s crazy to imagine that this time next year, we could have a little bubs with us…

Here’s wishing old dads, new dads, soon-to-be dads, dads to angel babies, and strong mommas who are also the dad a Happy Fathers’ Day!

Leave a Reply

